Latest News


Senior pupils were encouraged to share their gifts and talents with the world by Archbishop Eamon Martin at the recent prize-giving ceremony in Saint Catherine’s College.  

Principal Noeleen Tiffney began the celebratory evening by congratulating the senior pupils on the “the stellar successes of summer 2019.”  Addressing the pupils, she said: “In a year when we were told results would be poorer, grades would be suppressed and there would be hardly any A*s, you proved everyone wrong and outperformed all  who  have gone before you.”

Archbishop Eamon Martin, appointed exactly five years ago to the post of Archbishop of Armagh, was guest speaker at the event to celebrate the success of senior pupils. 

Principal Noeleen Tiffney introduced Archbishop Martin as “very learned Derry native with degrees in Maths and Theology, having studied at Queen’s University Belfast, The Institute of Education in London and the University of Cambridge.” 

She said it was “timely and appropriate” for Archbishop Eamon to visit the school.  She continued: “We take our duty as a Catholic school very seriously.  Not just delivering a Religious Education programme for all our students including a Living Faith Programme for our Sixth Formers, but also in living out the values of Sacred Heart Education on a daily basis.”

In his address to the pupils Archbishop Eamon challenged them with three questions about their ‘vision’ for themselves, their communities and the world:  “Do you have a 20:20 vision for yourself?  What is your 20:20 vision for others? What is your 20:20 vision for the world?”  He encouraged the pupils to be thankful for their gifts and talents but he asked them “never to waste them and not to forget who helped you along the way.”

He said: “You are the stars of your year group in so many ways but I encourage you to turn your successes into great hopes for the future…You can be of immense help to others if you value the personal qualities of compassion, kindness, friendship, love and generosity.  These qualities will make the world a better place.”

The vote of thanks was delivered by Head Girls Catherine Comiskey and Keely Lennon who thanked the Archbishop for giving up his time to attend the event and for his motivational and inspiring address.


Amy McGleenan, recipient of the Oracy Shield for Public speaking and the Kinlen Cup for English is pictured with Mrs Sheila McCoubrey, Head of Humanities.


Recipients of the Kingston Cup for best A level results, Aoife McAteer, Aine Doyle, Bríd Ní Aodha and Aine McMullen.

Recipient of the Madeleine Sophie Cup for best GCSE results, Samantha Budakova.

The pupils are pictured with Archbishop Eamon Martin, Guest Speaker at Prizegiving and Principal, Mrs N Tiffney.


Head Girls Catherine Comiskey and Keely Lennon gave the Vote of Thanks at Senior Prizegiving.  The girls are pictured with Archbishop Eamon Martin.


Mrs N Tiffney, Principal; Archbishop Eamon Martin; Aine McMullan, recipient of the Croft Cup for A level Science; Bríd Ní Aodha, joint recipient of the Hanna Cup for Mathematics; Mrs Monique Rennie, Head of Sixth Form; Blaithin McVeigh, recipient of the Considine Cup for Technology. 


Pictured at the recent Prizegiving in Saint Catherine’s College are:

Emer Rooney, recipient of the Cormac McAnallen Cup for Leadership and joint recipient of the Mother McAndrew Cup for Geography;  Cassi Morrison, joint recipient of the Mother McAndrew Cup for Geography; Louise Daly, recipient of the Mary Parkes Cup for contribution to sport in KS4; Molly Hobson, recipient of the Casey Cup for Home Economics. 


Pictured at the Prizegiving ceremony in Saint Catherine’s College are:

Sophie Doran, recipient of the MacKinnon Cup;  Mykenzie Cartmill, joint recipient of the Vocational Studies Award; Chloe Corvan, recipient of the Sister Genevieve Cup for Business Studies and Aine Doyle, recipient of the Nicola McKenna Memorial Cup.


Mr R Ó Ciaráin (Board of Governors) and Bn de Bléine (Irish Department) are pictured with Ellie Hart, recipient of the Prix de Français for French; Bríd Ní Aodha, recipient of Corn Uí Mháirtin for Irish Language, Déagláin Ó Scolláin, recipient of An Gradam Gaelach for commitment and loyalty to IMU education; Megan Campbell, recipient of Corn Ard Mhacha for Irish; Sarah Ní hAnrachtaigh, recipient of El Premio De Español  for Spanish.


Special Award winners at the Saint Catherine’s College Prizegiving are pictured with Guest Speaker, Archbishop Eamon Martin

Emer Rooney, recipient of the Cormack McAnallen Cup for Leadership; Catherine O’Hanlon, recipient of the Saint Catherine’s Cup for contribution to school life; Emma Hagan, recipient of the Siena Award for awareness of others; Ciara Boylan and Cara Hegarty, joint recipients of the Studies Cup for diligence.


Principal Mrs N Tiffney is pictured with Special Award winners Blaithin McReynolds, recipient of the Clodagh Marley Memorial Cup for kindness, understanding and concern for other pupils; Emily Druse, recipient of the Andrea Curry Cup for ethos;  and Hanna Greene, recipient of the Philippine Duchesne Cup for personification of Sacred Heart Values.  Also pictured is past member of staff and past Governors, Mrs Anne Murphy.


Sophia Kelly, recipient of the McCann Cup for drama; Brenna McCann, recipient of the Patrick Haughey Memorial Cup for Art/Moving Image Arts; Caitlin Nic Gabhann, recipient of the Miriam Mone Award for outstanding creativity and expressive intelligence; Lydia Quine and Beth Tiffney, joint recipients of the Minne Cup for Music.


Pictured is the recipient of the Rose Bowl for Outstanding achievement in Science at GCSE, Samantha Budakova.



You are here: Home Latest News SENIOR PRIZE GIVING 2019